James Brown once sang: “This is a man´s world”. This seems all the more the case in rap. Masculinity is central to American rap. The contours of constructed masculinity are reflected both in the language, as well as in the codes, the visual symbols of rap. Their battlefield is a body designed to produce dominance, demarcating it from homosexuality and femininity. Its construction creates contradictions and trenches in the development of a radical concept of black freedom. The lecture will trace historical and current threads of black masculinity in American rap and delineate perspectives of self-affirmation.

Introduction by Dr. Onur Suzan Nobrega

Tricia Rose is Professor for Africa Studies at the Brown University in Rhode Island. She has published numerous books on US-American hip-hop culture and moreover also writes as a journalist about gender, racism and blackness.

Dr. Onur Suzan Nobrega, lecturer at the Institute of Sociology, Focus Culture and Migration at Goethe-University Frankfurt, gained her PhD from Goldsmiths, University of London in Media and Cultural Studies, where she taught as a lecturer prior to her assignment at Goethe-University. Nobrega worked previously as a cultural journalist, tour manager for the Afro-German music project Brothers Keepers and curator for the Ballhaus Naunynstrasse theatre in Berlin.

Foto: Richard Howard Photography

Tricia Rose (USA)
(Hyper) Masculinity and Blackness in U.S. Hip-Hop
Sun. 10.12.2017

VORTRAG
* 6:30 p.m. , PS € 9 / BO € 11 / € 5 reduction for f.f.m. members.

LOCATION
Saal
Waldschmidtstraße 4, 60316 Frankfurt am Main

 
Dr. Onur Suzan Nobrega

Dr. Onur Suzan Nobrega

Event Dates

Sun. 10.12.2017

6:30 p.m.

„What we talk about when we talk about hip hop – and why it matters.“ (Tricia Rose)

"This is a man´s world" sang James Brown. Scheinbar gilt dies vornehmlich auch für den Rap. Männlichkeit ist zentral im amerikanischen Rap. Die Konturen der Konstruktion von Männlichkeit spiegeln sich sowohl in der Sprache, Codes und den visuellen Zeichen des Raps wider. Austragungsort ist hier der Körper, der Dominanz und Abgrenzung erzeugen soll. Sie steht in Abgrenzung zur Homosexualität und Weiblichkeit. Ihre Konstruktion erzeugt Widersprüche und Gräben in der Entwicklung einer radikalen Vision von schwarzer Freiheit. Der Vortrag wird die historischen und aktuellen Stränge schwarzer Männlichkeit im amerikanischen Rap nachzeichnen und Perspektiven der Selbstbehauptung aufzeigen.

Einführung von Dr. Onur Suzan Nobrega

Tricia Rose ist Professorin für Afrikastudien an der Brown University in Rhode Island. Sie veröffentlichte zahlreiche Bücher zur U.S.Hip Hop Kultur. Darüber hinaus ist sie journalistisch in den Themen Gender, Rassismus und Blackness aktiv.

Dr. Onur Suzan Nobrega lehrt am Institut für Soziologie, Bereich Kultur und Migration der Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt. Sie promovierte und lehrte in Medien- und Kulturwissenschaften an der britischen Kunsthochschule Goldsmiths, University of London. Nobrega arbeitete u.a. als Kulturjournalistin, Tourmanagerin des afrodeutschen Musikprojekts Brothers Keepers und Kuratorin für das Ballhaus Naunynstrasse in Berlin.

Foto: Richard Howard Photography

Tricia Rose (USA)
(Hyper) Masculinity and Blackness in U.S. Hip-Hop
So. 10.12.2017

VORTRAG
* 18:30 Uhr, VVK € 9 / AK € 11 / € 5 Ermäßigung für f.f.m. Mitglieder.

ORT
Saal
Waldschmidtstraße 4, 60316 Frankfurt am Main

 
Dr. Onur Suzan Nobrega

Dr. Onur Suzan Nobrega

Veranstaltungsdatum

So. 10.12.2017

18:30 Uhr