The tension grows almost unbearable as ten performers from Bruno Beltrão’s Grupo de Rua step onto the stage. Hesitantly, the dancers grope through the darkness until suddenly a whirlwind of jumps, head spins and somersaults break loose. Brazilian choreographer Beltrão is one of the shooting stars of the contemporary dance scene. As a teenager, he travelled from breakdance battle to breakdance battle. Then in his early twenties, he decided to revolutionize dance. Just like William Forsythe changed our perspective on ballet, Beltrão has added new aspects to dance by interweaving the movements and attitudes of street dance, breakdance and hip hop with principles of contemporary dance. This has produced intense choreographies, which captivate audiences worldwide with their physical presence and virtuosity. “Inoah”, the company’s newest piece, takes on an entirely new dimension. Electric like a stormy night, it is also a call for social change – negotiating the irreconcilable differences currently running through Brazilian society.

No language requirements * Directed by: Bruno Beltrão * Assistant Director: Ugo Alexandre * Lighting Design: Renato Machado * Sound Design: Felipe Storino * Costumes: Marcelo Sommer * Dance: Leozin Laureano, Olye Souza, João Chataignier, Kapu Araújo, Cley  Almeida, Leandro Rodrigues, Douglas Santos, Duke Pantoja, Bruno Duarte, Igor Martins * Production Management: Tamara Catharino

Commissioned by Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, HAU Hebbel am Ufer Berlin, Kampnagel Hamburg, tanzhaus nrw and Hellerau Europäisches Zentrum der Künste Dresden a spart of „Projeto Brasil“, funded by the German Federal Culture Foundation. * A Grupo de Rua production, co-produced by Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, Wiener Festwochen, tanzhaus nrw, Festival de Marseille and Kampnagel Hamburg. * Performance as a part of the Tanzfestival Rhein-Main 2017 of the Tanzplattform Rhein Main. Supported by the Goethe Institut.

Bruno Beltrão (BR), Grupo de Rua (BR)
INOAH
Mon. 16.10., Tue. 17.10.2017

DANCE/ALL IN
* 7:30 p.m. , € 19 / red. € 9.
Mousonturm-co-production

LOCATION
Frankfurt LAB
Schmidtstraße 12
60326 Frankfurt am Main

Bus Shuttle für INOAH vom Hessischen Staatstheater Wiesbaden zum Frankfurt LAB: Tickets hier.

 

(c) Kerstin Behrendt

(c) Kerstin Behrendt

Event Dates

Mon. 16.10.2017

7:30 p.m.  

Tue. 17.10.2017

7:30 p.m.

Die Luft vibriert, wenn die zehnköpfige Grupo de Rua des brasilianischen Choreografen Bruno Beltrão den Bühnenraum betritt. Zögernd tasten sich die Tänzer durch das Dunkel bis plötzlich ein Sturm aus Sprüngen, Headspins und Saltos losbricht. Beltrão zählt zu den Shootingstars der zeitgenössischen Tanzszene. Als Teenager reiste er von Breakdance-Battle zu Breakdance-Battle, bevor er sich mit Anfang zwanzig in den Kopf setzte, den Tanz zu revolutionieren. So wie William Forsythe einen anderen Blick auf das Ballett warf, gelang es Beltrão dem Tanz neue Aspekte hinzuzufügen, indem er die Bewegungen und Haltungen von Street-, Breakdance und HipHop mit Prinzipien des zeitgenössischen Tanzes verwebte. Er schafft so intensive Choreografien, die durch ihre körperliche Präsenz und Virtuosität Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauer weltweit in den Bann ziehen. „Inoah“, das aktuellste Stück der Kompanie, erreicht dabei eine neue Dimension. Spannungsgeladen wie eine Gewitternacht wird es zu einem gesellschaftlichen Plädoyer und verhandelt die unauflösbaren Widersprüche, die nicht nur die brasilianische Gesellschaft aktuell prägen.

ALL IN / STAY COOL - für alle ab 10!

Keine Sprachkenntnisse erforderlich * Regie: Bruno Beltrão * Regieassistent: Ugo Alexandre * Lichtdesign: Renato Machado * Sounddesign: Felipe Storino * Kostüme: Marcelo Sommer * Tanz: Leozin Laureano, Olye Souza, João Chataignier, Kapu Araújo, Cley  Almeida, Leandro Rodrigues, Douglas Santos, Duke Pantoja, Bruno Duarte, Igor Martins *
Produktionsleitung: Tamara Catharino

Ein Werkauftrag von Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, HAU Hebbel am Ufer Berlin, Kampnagel Hamburg, tanzhaus nrw und Hellerau Europäisches Zentrum der Künste Dresden im Rahmen von „Projeto Brasil“, gefördert von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes. * Eine Produktion von Grupo de Rua in Koproduktion mit Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, Wiener Festwochen, tanzhaus nrw, Festival de Marseille und Kampnagel Hamburg. * Aufführung im Rahmen des Tanzfestival Rhein-Main 2017 der Tanzplattform Rhein Main. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch das Goethe-Institut München.

Bruno Beltrão (BR), Grupo de Rua (BR)
INOAH
Mo. 16.10., Di. 17.10.2017

TANZ/ALL IN
* 19:30 Uhr, € 19 / erm. € 9.
Mousonturm-Koproduktion

ORT
Frankfurt LAB
Schmidtstraße 12
60326 Frankfurt am Main

Bus Shuttle für INOAH vom Hessischen Staatstheater Wiesbaden zum Frankfurt LAB: Tickets hier.

 

(c) Kerstin Behrendt

(c) Kerstin Behrendt

Veranstaltungsdatum

Mo. 16.10.2017

19:30 Uhr 

Di. 17.10.2017

19:30 Uhr