From youth centre into the heart of society. Gangsta rap has reached both the feature pages as well as the gala event. The opinions of the mainstream middle class rage from “dangerously alien” to “excitingly different”. When injected into an aesthetic context, gangsta rap is often wrested from its social background and made more palatable. However, there are always also moments of subversion and trickery. This lecture focuses on exactly such rifts in its history as well as the relationship between rap and migration, while moreover shedding some light on the mechanisms of constructing masculinity in gangsta rap.

Murat Güngör teaches at the Carlo-Mierendorff Comprehensive School in Frankfurt am Main. He is co-author of a non-fiction book on hip-hop culture and co-founder of the anti-racism activist network “Kanak Attak”. Musically, he was an active rapper between 1990 and 1999.

Hannes Loh teaches at the Geschwister-Scholl-Gymnasium near Cologne. He is author of several books on hip-hop culture in Germany. From 1986 to 1998, he was musically active as rapper in the group “Anarchist Academy”.

Murat Güngör, Hannes Loh
From Migrant Worker to Gangsta Rapper
Fri. 08.12.2017

VORTRAG/DISKUSSION
* 8 p.m. , PS € 9 / BO € 11 / € 5 reduction for f.fm. members.

LOCATION
Studio 1
Waldschmidtstraße 4, 60316 Frankfurt am Main

Event Dates

Fri. 08.12.2017

8 p.m.

"In der deutschen Geschichte kommen jetzt auch Kanaken vor." (Haftbefehl)

Vom Jugendhaus in die Mitte der Gesellschaft. Gangstarap ist sowohl in den Feuilletons als auch in der Gala angekommen. Von „gefährlich fremd“ bis „aufregend anders“ lauten die Urteile der bürgerlichen Mitte. Sie werden eingespeist in einen ästhetischen Kontext und häufig dadurch von ihrer sozialen Verortung entrissen und konsumierbar gemacht. Allerdings gibt es auch immer wieder Momente des Unterlaufens und der Trickserei. Solche Brüche in der Geschichte sowie der Zusammenhang zwischen Rap und Migration stehen im Mittelpunkt des Vortrages. Darüber hinaus werden die Mechanismen der Konstruktion von Männlichkeit im Gangstarap beleuchtet.

Murat Güngör ist Lehrer an der Carlo-Mierendorff-Gesamtschule. Mitautor eines Sachbuches zur Hip Hop Kultur. Mitbegründer des antirassistischen Netzwerkes „Kanak Attak“. Als ehemaliger Rapper war er zwischen 1990 und 1999 musikalisch aktiv.

Hannes Loh ist Lehrer am Geschwister-Scholl-Gymnasium bei Köln. Autor mehrere Bücher zur Hip Hop Kultur in Deutschland. Als ehemaliger Rapper bei der Gruppe „Anarchist Academy“ war er zwischen 1986 und 1998 musikalisch aktiv.

Murat Güngör, Hannes Loh
Vortrag: Vom Gastarbeiter zum Gangsta-Rapper

Fr. 08.12.2017

VORTRAG/DISKUSSION
* 20 Uhr, VVK € 9 / AK € 11 / € 5 Ermäßigung für f.fm. Mitglieder.

ORT
Studio 1
Waldschmidtstraße 4, 60316 Frankfurt am Main

Veranstaltungsdatum

Fr. 08.12.2017

20 Uhr