(c) Basel Abbas & Ruanne Abou-Rahme

Basel Abbas/Ruanne Abou-Rahme

at those terrifying frontiers where the existence and disappearance of people fade into each other

Mousonturm, Frankfurt

Performance

 Bodies, Art, and Protection: Breath

Fragments from Edwards Said’s most personal and poetic work “After the Last Sky” are repurposed to create a new script that reflects on what it means now to be construed as an ‘illegal’ person, an illegal body or entity: a person that should not exist or move in certain spaces, an impossible presence, continually threatened with potential disappearance at borders, security fences and walls. The script is turned into a song sung by the artists as multiple avatars. Using software that generates avatars from a single image, the avatars in the video are all people who participated in the ’March of Return’ that took place on the seamline in Gaza: an area that has been under physical siege since 2006. The relationship between fugitivity, fragility and futurity become manifest here, giving visual expression to forms of slow and silent violence involved in the circulation and construction of images. The work is an existential reflection on the impossibilities of the Palestinian condition but also the very generative potentials within his position, of existing while ‘not actually existing’, of being illegal: a mutable and disruptive presence. It speaks through Palestine to a much broader human condition: of bodies that are deemed illegal, disposable, invisible.

Language: English

One day ticket is valid for all events in the context of “Bodies, un-protected” on the day of validity, on 12.11. including the performance Manila Zoo in the context of the Tanzfestival Rhein-Main at the Gallus Theater.

Admission is only possible with proof of negative Corona status (tested, vaccinated or recovered). In case of test detection, the negative result of a PCR test must be submitted and the test must not have been performed more than 48 hours ago. General rules of hygiene and physical distancing must be observed. The event will operate at not full audience capacity. Wearing a medical mouth-nose covering is mandatory everywhere, also when seated. More information on Hygiene and Safety.

(c) Basel Abbas & Ruanne Abou-Rahme

Basel Abbas/Ruanne Abou-Rahme

at those terrifying frontiers where the existence and disappearance of people fade into each other

Mousonturm, Frankfurt

Performance

 Bodies, Art, and Protection: Breath

Auszüge aus Edward Saids persönlichstem und poetischstem Werk „After the Last Sky“ werden umgewidmet in einem neuen Skript, das sich damit befasst, was es bedeutet, in der heutigen Zeit als ‚illegale‘ Person – als illegaler Körper oder illegale Entität – konstruiert zu werden. Als eine Person, die in bestimmten Räumen nicht existieren oder sich nicht in ihnen bewegen soll, als eine unmögliche Existenz, die an Grenzen, Sicherheitszäunen und Mauern ständig dem Risiko ihres potentiellen Verschwindens ausgesetzt ist. Das Skript wird zu einem Song verwandelt, den die Künstler:innen in Gestalt mehrerer Avatare singen. Die Avatare, die mithilfe einer Software auf der Grundlage einzelner Fotos generiert werden, sind allesamt Teilnehmer:innen des ‚March of Return‘, der entlang der Gebiete, die Gaza säumen, stattfand: ein Gebiet, das seit 2006 physisch belagert ist. Während Formen der langsamen und lautlosen, die mit der Konstruktion und Verbreitung von Bildern verbunden sind, visuell Gestalt annehmen, werden Beziehungen zwischen Flüchtigkeit, Fragilität und Zukunft offengelegt. Die Arbeit ist eine existentielle Reflektion über die Unmöglichkeit der palästinensischen Position, aber auch über das starke regernative Potential, das diese Bedingung, zu existieren während man gleichzeitig nicht existiert, illegal zu sein, birgt: eine veränderbare, verstörende Präsenz. Sie spricht am Beispiel Palästinas einen sehr viel allgemeineren Aspekt der menschlichen Verfasstheit an: von Körpern, die als illegal, verfügbar, unsichtbar gelten.

Sprache: Englisch

Ein Tagesticket gilt für alle Veranstaltungen im Rahmen von „Bodies, un-protected“ am Gültigkeitstag, am 12.11. inklusive der Vorstellung Manila Zoo im Rahmen des Tanzfestivals Rhein-Main im Gallus Theater.

Einlass nur mit gültigem Negativnachweis (Getestet, Geimpft oder Genesen). Gemäß Coronavirus-Schutzverordnung: Bei Testnachweis muss das negative Ergebnis eines PCR-Tests vorgelegt werden und die Testung darf nicht länger als 48 Stunden zurückliegen. Die allgemeinen Hygiene- und Abstandsregeln sind einzuhalten. Teilbelegung im Veranstaltungsraum. Das Tragen einer Mund-Nasen-Bedeckung ist überall, auch am Sitzplatz, verpflichtend. Mehr Infos zu Hygiene und Sicherheit