>
<
(c) Wehrle_Prinsloo, (c) Ashley Röttjers, (c) Simon(e), (c) Wehrle Prinsloo, (c) Annika Nagel Photography

Simon(e) van Saarloos/dark matters Kollektiv

(Amsterdam/Mainz/Berlin)

d rk m tters x a chaotic happening. Sound Lecture

online

Performance/Discussion

Using gigantic particle accelerators, research is being carried out worldwide on something that can neither be precisely determined nor grasped or detected – neither with the human senses nor with current measuring methods. It is currently thought to make up as much as 95 % of our universe: dark matter. Simon(e) van Saarloos and the dark matters collective (Yana Prinsloo, Malin Nagel, Helen Heß and Annika Wehrle) wonder if this might apply to our cities, our society, our sciences, our bodies, too – is 95 % of what makes them up perhaps not even perceptible? Does it lie in darkness and cannot simply be “enlightened” as this would change what it actually is? In an exciting mixture of sound, lecture, thinking aloud and joint conversation, Simon(e) and dark matters take you on a search for traces of the darkness in the darkness. They encourage you to listen to the subtle and the hidden, to bear with the limitations of what you’re able to control and to enter into a sensual network of entanglement with things, organisms and uncertainties.

Venue: Zoom
Duration: 90 min.
Language: English (wir bemühen uns eine Simultanübersetzung (Untertitel) für den Vortrag zu organisieren)

Relaxed Performance, please note: the audio bits include stark contrasts in volume and non-usual sounds. They will announce early enough within the event.

The event will take place online on 24 April 2021 from 20.00–21.30 and it is limited to 90 participants. There will be a booklet to accompany the programme as well as a letter sent by post to those who want it.

Please register here

The event is part of the teaser programme of the festival Nocturnal Unrest – a cooperation of the nOu Kollektiv and Ladiez e.V. Cultural and Political Education for Women, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, feministische philosoph_innen Frankfurt and hafen 2.

>
<
(c) Wehrle_Prinsloo, (c) Ashley Röttjers, (c) Simon(e), (c) Wehrle Prinsloo, (c) Annika Nagel Photography

Simon(e) van Saarloos/dark matters Kollektiv

(Amsterdam/Mainz/Berlin)

d rk m tters x a chaotic happening. Sound Lecture

online

Performance/Gespräch

Unter Einsatz gigantischer Teilchenbeschleuniger wird weltweit an etwas geforscht, das sich weder mit den menschlichen Sinnen noch mit den aktuellen Messmethoden exakt bestimmen oder nachweisen lässt. Dabei wird derzeit davon ausgegangen, dass es bis zu 95 Prozent unseres Universums ausmacht: die Dunkle Materie. Simon(e) van Saarloos und das dark matters Kollektiv (Yana Prinsloo, Malin Nagel, Helen Heß und Annika Wehrle) fragen sich, ob das nicht auch für unsere Städte, unsere Gesellschaft, unsere Wissenschaften, unsere Körper gilt – sind 95 Prozent dessen, was sie ausmacht, vielleicht gar nicht wahrnehmbar? Liegt es im Dunkeln und kann nicht einfach „erleuchtet“ werden, weil es dann nicht mehr wäre, was es ist? In einem aufregenden Mix aus Sound, Vortrag, lautem Nachdenken und gemeinsamem Gespräch gehen Simon(e) und dark matters auf Spurensuche nach der Dunkelheit in der Dunkelheit. Sie regen dazu an, dem Subtilen und Verborgenen nachzulauschen, die Begrenztheit eigener Kontrolle und Macht auszuhalten und eine sinnliche Vernetzung mit Dingen, Organismen und Ungewissheiten einzugehen.

Dauer: 90 Min.
Sprache: Englisch
Relaxed Performance (Hinweis: Die Audio-Bits enthalten starke Lautstärkekontraste und nicht-alltägliche Geräusche. Sie werden während der Veranstaltung rechtzeitig angekündigt, sodass z.B. empfindliche Personen sie rechtzeitig leiser regeln oder den Ton ausstellen können.)

Die Veranstaltung findet als Webinar auf Zoom statt und ist auf 90 Teilnehmende begrenzt. Begleitend zum Programm gibt es ein Booklet und für die, die möchten, auch Post.

Hier kann man sich anmelden

Das Event ist Teil des Teaser-Programms des Festivals Nocturnal Unrest – eine Kooperation des nOu Kollektivs und Ladiez e.V. Kulturelle und Politische Bildung für Frauen, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, feministische philosoph_innen Frankfurt und hafen 2.