(c) TU Dresden

Nikita Dhawan

The Aesthetics of Violence, and the Violence of Aesthetics

Mousonturm, Frankfurt

Lecture

Lecture

Considering the historical role of art in colonial and fascist regimes, can one entrust art with the task of emancipatory politics? Can art make us political and ethical by provoking us out of our indifference and irresponsibility? Might critical artistic practices facilitate transnational justice and democracy, protecting and promoting human rights? Or should art be autonomous and non-purposive and not be placed in the service of political and ethical imperatives?

Given that art functions within structures of capitalism and neo-colonialism, the political, social and economic role of art, artistic practices, and art institutions in current conditions of global inequality remains ambivalent and controversial. Nikita Dhawan’s talk will address the role of an aesthetic education (Spivak) in the pursuit of postimperial global ethics and politics. Can the political labour of training the imagination mitigate imperialist, racist, orientalist and heteronormative structures and practices?

 

Language: English

The day ticket is valid for all events within “Bodies, un-protected” on the day of validity.

Admission is only possible with proof of negative Corona status (tested, vaccinated or recovered). In case of test detection, the negative result of a PCR test must be submitted and the test must not have been performed more than 48 hours ago. General rules of hygiene and physical distancing must be observed.  Wearing a medical mouth-nose covering is mandatory everywhere, also when seated. More information on Hygiene and Safety.

(c) TU Dresden

Nikita Dhawan

The Aesthetics of Violence, and the Violence of Aesthetics

Mousonturm, Frankfurt

Lecture

Lecture

Wenn wir die historische Rolle der Kunst in kolonialen und faschistischen Regimes betrachten, ist es dann möglich, Kunst mit der Aufgabe einer emanzipatorischen Politik zu betrauen? Kann uns die Kunst zu politischen und ethischen Handeln bringen, indem sie uns in unserer Gleichgültigkeit und Verantwortungslosigkeit wachrüttelt? Können künstlerische Praktiken transnationale Gerechtigkeit und Demokratie unterstützen, indem sie Menschenrechte schützen und deren Einhaltung vorantreiben? Oder sollte Kunst autonom und nicht zweckorientiert sein und nicht in den Dienst von politischen und ethischen Ansprüchen gestellt werden?

In Anbetracht der Tatsache, dass Kunst innerhalb der Strukturen des Kapitalismus und Neokolonialismus funktioniert, bleibt die politische, soziale und ökonomische Rolle von Kunst, künstlerischen Praktiken und Kunstinstitutionen unter den gegenwärtigen Bedingungen der globalen Ungleichheit ambivalent und kontrovers. Der Vortrag von Nikita Dhawan wird die Rolle ästhetischer Erziehung (nach Spivak) beim Streben nach einer postimperialen globalen Ethik und Politik thematisieren. Kann die politische Arbeit, unserer Vorstellungskraft zu trainieren, vorherrschenden imperialistischen, rassistischen, orientalistischen und heteronormativen Strukturen und Praktiken entgegenwirken?

Sprache: Englisch

Das Tagesticket gilt für alle Veranstaltungen im Rahmen von „Bodies, un-protected“ am Gültigkeitstag.

Einlass nur mit gültigem Negativnachweis (Getestet, Geimpft oder Genesen). Gemäß Coronavirus-Schutzverordnung: Bei Testnachweis muss das negative Ergebnis eines PCR-Tests vorgelegt werden und die Testung darf nicht länger als 48 Stunden zurückliegen. Die allgemeinen Hygiene- und Abstandsregeln sind einzuhalten. Das Tragen einer Mund-Nasen-Bedeckung ist überall, auch am Sitzplatz, verpflichtend. Mehr Infos zu Hygiene und Sicherheit