>
<

Diversity Arts Culture + Mathias Rodatz

Mousonturm, Frankfurt

In order for the diversity of Berlin’s urban society to be more strongly in the cultural sector, Berlin’s Senate Department for Culture and Europe established the Diversity Arts Culture Office as a design and consultation office for diversity development in the cultural field: the Berlin Service Center for Diversity Development – Diversity Arts Culture was founded in April 2017 with the goal of fostering and facilitating diversity oriented structural change in Berlin’s cultural sector. The establishment of Diversity Arts Culture goes back to the initiative of various members of the arts community. Over the last decades, activists and creatives have paved the way for sustainable, diversity-focused change in the cultural sector. Diversity Arts Culture offers consultations to cultural institutions on matters of diversity, develops diversity training courses for art practitioners and offers support to artists and art practitioners, who don’t have equal access to opportunities within the cultural sector. The project moreover provides consultation on diversity to the city’s Department of Arts and Culture and collects data on equity in Berlin’s cultural sector.

As part of im*possible bodies #2. An Attempted Deconstruction, Diversity Arts Culture will introduce their work and speak about possible key factors for successful structural change, based on the needs of those affected by exclusion.

Mathias Rodatz’s work focuses on the geographies of inequality. He is interested in the interplay of (spatial) processes of marginalisation with the social, cultural or political (counter)movements that they produce. In this context, he specially focuses on the role of knowledge and practices of the state. His areas of interest include migration, citizenship and racism in the neoliberal state, as well as nationalism and belonging in post-migrant society. He is a co-founder and editor of movements. Journal for Critical Research on Migration and Border Regimes. He is also since 2010 a research associate at the University of Frankfurt’s Institute for Human Geography.

Based on the example of the City of Frankfurt am Main, the contribution demonstrates ways in which current urban diversity politics promise an alternative city of equality – and prove to be futile due to neoliberal factors. Mathias Rodatz theorizes them as politics of transnational urban citizenship, whose potential as an effective challenge to state racism in the city has still to be realized.

>
<

Diversity Arts Culture + Mathias Rodatz

Mousonturm, Frankfurt

Damit sich die Vielfalt der Berliner Stadtgesellschaft stärker im Kulturbetrieb widerspiegelt, hat die Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa eine Konzeptions- und Beratungsstelle für Diversitätsentwicklung eingerichtet: Das Berliner Projektbüro für Diversitätsentwicklung – Diversity Arts Culture wurde im April 2017 mit dem Ziel gegründet, einen diversitätsorientierten Strukturwandel im Berliner Kulturbetrieb anzuregen und zu fördern. Die Gründung von Diversity Arts Culture ist der Initiative verschiedener Akteur*innen aus dem Kulturbetrieb zu verdanken. In den letzten Dekaden haben Aktivist*innen und Kulturschaffende mit kritischen Interventionen, den Weg zu einer kulturpolitischen Initiative für eine nachhaltige diskriminierungskritische Entwicklung des Kulturbereichs geebnet. Diversity Arts Culture berät Kulturinstitutionen zu Diversitätsfragen, entwickelt Qualifizierungsangebote für Kulturschaffende zu Diversitätsthemen und stärkt Künstler*innen und Kulturschaffende, die im Kulturbetrieb Ausschlüsse erfahren. Außerdem berät das Projektbüro die Kulturverwaltung in ihrer diversitätsorientierten Ausrichtung und erhebt Gleichstellungsdaten für den Berliner Kulturbetrieb.

Im Rahmen von im*possible bodies #2 Versuch einer Dekonstruktion werden Diversity Arts Culture einen Einblick in ihre Arbeit gewähren und darüber sprechen, was die Gelingensbedingungen für eine erfolgreichen Strukturwandel sein können, die von den Bedürfnissen derjenigen ausgehen, die von Ausschlüssen betroffen sind.

Mathias Rodatz arbeitet zu Geographien der Ungleichheit. Er interessiert sich für das Spannungsfeld zwischen (räumlichen) Prozessen der Marginalisierung und sozialen, kulturellen oder politischen (Gegen-)Bewegungen, die aus ihnen hervorgehen. Dabei fragt er insbesondere nach der Rolle von Wissen und Praktiken des Staates. Zu seinen Themen gehören Migration, Bürgerschaft und Rassismus in der neoliberalen Stadt sowie Nationalismus und Zugehörigkeit in der postmigrantischen Gesellschaft. Er ist Mitbegründer und Redakteur von movements. Journal für kritische Migrations- und Grenzregimeforschung. Seit 2010 ist er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Humangeographie der Universität Frankfurt beschäftigt.

Der Input zeigt am Beispiel der Stadt Frankfurt am Main, wie aktuelle städtische Vielfaltspolitiken eine andere, gleichberechtigte Stadt versprechen – und unter neoliberalen Umständen doch ins Leere laufen. Mathias Rodatz theoretisiert sie als Politiken transnationaler Stadtbürgerschaft, deren Potenzial zu einer tatsächlichen Herausforderung des Staatsrassismus in der Stadt es noch zu realisieren gilt.