>
<
(c) Hakan Topal

Hakan Topal

(New York)

The Golden Cage: Reenactments, 2018-22

Mousonturm, Frankfurt

Performance

The northern bald ibis (a.k.a “kelaynak” in Turkish) is the most endangered migratory bird in the Middle East. It is characterised by a bare, red face and neck, and long and narrow feathers. When Palmyra fell to ISIS, the kelaynak colony, which migrates from Northeast Africa to the Turkish-Syrian border, faced total extinction. In March 2016, the state-operated Birecik Kelaynak Reproduction Center decided not to release the birds from their migration-period confinement cages in order to protect them.

“The Golden Cage” refers to a set of confinements amidst the never-ending catastrophes in the region; it is a poetic examination of artefacts, ruins, water bodies and organisms spread across a highly nationalized terrain. As the embodied symbol of the state, the cage is performed through translated texts to create new contradictory associations about borders, migrations, entrapments and untranslatability. For a multitude of historical, archaeological and representative implications, these sacred birds are metaphors for this performative piece.

Language: English

The day ticket is valid for all events within “Bodies, un-protected” on the day of validity.

Admission is only possible with proof of negative Corona status (tested, vaccinated or recovered). In case of test detection, the negative result of a PCR test must be submitted and the test must not have been performed more than 48 hours ago. General rules of hygiene and physical distancing must be observed. Wearing a medical mouth-nose covering is mandatory everywhere, also when seated. More information on Hygiene and Safety.

>
<
(c) Hakan Topal,

Hakan Topal

(New York)

The Golden Cage: Reenactments, 2018-22

Mousonturm, Frankfurt

Performance

Der Waldrapp (alias Kelaynak auf Türkisch) ist der am meisten vom Aussterben bedrohte Zugvogel im Nahen Osten. Er zeichnet sich durch rotgefärbte nackte Partien an Kopf und Hals und seine langen, schmalen Federn aus. Als Palmyra in die Hände des IS fiel, sah sich die Kelaynak-Kolonie, die von Nordostafrika zur türkisch-syrischen Grenze zieht, vom vollständigen Aussterben bedroht. Um die Vögel zu schützen, entschied das staatlich betriebene Birecik Kelaynak Reproduction Center im März 2016, die Vögel zur Zeit des Vogelzugs nicht aus ihren Käfigen zu lassen, um sie zu schützen.

„The Golden Cage“ nimmt auf eine Reihe von Einschließungen Bezug, die im Kontext der nie endenden Katastrophen in der Region stehen; es ist eine poetische Untersuchung von Artefakten, Ruinen, Gewässern und Organismen, die in dem extrem nationalisiertem Territorium vorzufinden sind. Als symbolische Verkörperung des Staates nimmt der Käfig durch Texte und ihre Übersetzungen wieder Gestalt an, und bringt so neue, widersprüchliche Assoziationen zu Grenzen, Migration, Gefangensein und Unübersetzbarkeit hervor. Die heiligen Vögel werden in dieser Performance zu Metaphern mit vielfältigen historischen, archäologischen und repräsentativen Bedeutungen.

Das Tagesticket gilt für alle Veranstaltungen im Rahmen von „Bodies, un-protected“ am Gültigkeitstag.

Einlass nur mit gültigem Negativnachweis (Getestet, Geimpft oder Genesen). Gemäß Coronavirus-Schutzverordnung: Bei Testnachweis muss das negative Ergebnis eines PCR-Tests vorgelegt werden und die Testung darf nicht länger als 48 Stunden zurückliegen. Die allgemeinen Hygiene- und Abstandsregeln sind einzuhalten. Das Tragen einer Mund-Nasen-Bedeckung ist überall, auch am Sitzplatz, verpflichtend. Mehr Infos zu Hygiene und Sicherheit